The smell of wax and neoprene


Theres some great videos here from Patagonia talking about their surf shops. I still vividly remember the first time I ever went into a real surf shop, I was on holiday in Scarborough with my family about 11 years old and I’d just got my first skateboard. My folks bought me a pink Ocean Pacific t-shirt and an Animal watch strap for my Swatch and I was so stoked. I’d never seen a surfboard in the flesh until then and I was in awe of their size and colours (remember this was the neon 80s) Whenever I’ve been in a surf shop since the smell of neoprene and wax takes me back to that little surf shop in Scarborough. The pic I’ve used is from Shawn Stussys new Tokyo shop definitely one on the list to visit. Via

Leave a Reply

