A bikes winter wardrobe

That time of year has come again when my bike has to hang up its summer wardrobe and get ready for the winter months. Out go my sexy Cinelli track drops, in place of risers and on goes the mudguard for the next 6 months or so. I don’t like the sit up and beg riding position risers give you but I reckon my back’ll thank me and the increase in torque when riding out of the saddle and climbing is huge. Also the slim but grippy Charge grips will make a big difference on wet cold mornings rather than slipping about on naked drop bars. I’ll have to adopt the function over form philosophy to get over the decrease in aesthetics, I always think a track frame looks its best with deep drop bars, the only time risers suit are on a lo-pro set up, but thats just me. In regards to the rear mudguard I don’t have a single bad word to say about that £2 piece of plastic attached with zip ties, as theres no better feeling than a dry bum on a rainy day.

Leave a Reply

