Technics SL-700, yup mini decks for 7″ records

mini1210s
Its not April 1st is it? My eyes are quite amazed at what I’m seeing, look at that photo of Biz Marke scratching, his ring is nearly as big as the record! I was regularly djing in that strange transition period in the early 00’s when serious, vinyl only DJs had to accept that digital was becoming a legitimate option. During that time in an effort to downsize and embrace digital I’d often leave behind a ridiculously heavy bag of 12″ in favour of a cute lil’ box of 7’inches combined with an iPod. Even though the iPod opened up all the possibilities of taking a vast amount of tracks in your pocket to a party. What actually happened is in a few months that little 7″ box became so refined with surefire party classics I rarely need the ipod. If these little guys had been available then I think I might have went on fire in excitement.

recordbox
Just dug out my old box of party 7″s and heres a few of the gems lurking in that box of fun, virtually all of which were bought for pence at car boot sales and junk shops:
Talking Heads – Once in a life time
Beastie Boys – Get it together
Elton John – Benny and the Jets
Gorillaz – Dare (Soulwax Mix)
Primal Scream – Rocks
Chaka Kahn – I feel for you
Isley Bros- Its your thing
Hot Chip – Over & Over
Mary Jane Girls – All night long
I’ll stop here otherwise I’ll end up cataloguing the whole box.

Leave a Reply

