Some love for Brighton Level

brighton_newlevelskatepark2

I passed the newly built Brighton Level skate park on my way to work today. Seeing the space when its empty really gives you a perspective of how amazing it is. Theres some good pictures here and here but they still don’t do justice to its size and quality. Aside for the various bowls and transitions there are loads of little details I’ve never noticed when its being skated. Things like solid marble blocks just like the ones outside your favourite shopping centre, (except without the skate stoppers) and protruding bent rails for pole jams (is that the right term?). Its just incredible to take in and really puts the shitty ‘RareUnit’ steel mini ramps we had in my day in perspective, (steel surfaced ramps, c’mon what were they thinking!!!)
velocafe
Next door to the skate park is a lovely looking building thats about to become the home to VeloCafe, details seem to be few at the moment but I’m under the impression that its a cycling theme cafe, although its in partnership with Small Batch Coffee so you know you’ll get a great cup of Joe. Now this is something I intend to make good use of, as I jelously watch the lil skate rats shred the new park I can tell old skate stories whist sipping my flat white.

With all this activity on the Level and Meat Liquor opening nearby I’m just so stoked that my lil corner of Brighton is getting some long overdue love.

Leave a Reply

